crunchy crisp potato cups

Renata of Testado, Provado & Aprovado! was our Daring Cooks’ April 2011 hostess. Renata challenged us to think “outside the plate” and create our own edible containers! Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 17th to May 16th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

I made some crispy (in places) potato cups. The idea was to make potato crisp style spoon shapes, which burnt to a crisp, but I had also used up some of the left over thin potato peelings into cups, layering them over mounded aliminium. These I salted lightly, sprayed with oil and baked in the oven. I had planned, if the spoon ‘crisps’ worked out, to top them with a savory cream cheese dip for snacking. However, the cups were still delicious, and after trying to run 7k yesterday (I am ever so slowly trying to get to a half marathon, ha! that’s a distance in the future) I woke up ravenous, and needed something substantial for breakfast.

The potato cups made a lovely gluten free alternative to toast, so I filled them with some bbq baked beans, boosted with bits of bacon, tomatoe, red onion and herbs, and had it along side a poached egg. Yum yum yum was all I could say, I even wished I had more!

Can’t wait for the challange of sweet edible containers, I’ve been keeping an eye on what’s been shared on the DK site and they all look impressive and lovely, and given me some yummy ideas on what to try.

One Response to crunchy crisp potato cups

  1. WOW now that is a great meal to have after a long run LOL LOL. I love BBQ baked beans and with the bowl and the egg would be fabulous. Well done on this challenge.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

Leave a Reply

