Papa’s

Kathlyn of Bake Like a Ninja was our Daring Cooks’ March 2011 hostess. Kathlyn challenges us to make two classic Peruvian dishes: Ceviche de Pescado from “Peruvian Cooking – Basic Recipes” by Annik Franco Barreau. And Papas Rellenas adapted from a home recipe by Kathlyn’s Spanish teacher, Mayra.

I got lazy with the papa’s and instead of making a filling from scratch I used a quite lovely (if I do say so myself) bolagnase sauce that I’d had on fresh pasta a few days before. I wasn’t really a fan of them, maybe I wasn’t really in the mood.  All I could think about while I was mashing the potatoes was how yummy they’d be just with a big glob of butter on it ….Mmmmmm. But my boyfriend, who often doesn’t like the ‘strange’ things I make from DK’s, despite being one of my taste testers, “approved” the meal. He is a man of simple tastes so mash and mince worked well for him.

Here’s a pic of the finished product with some beans. The raw fish of the challange did not sit well with me so I skipped that.

Leave a Reply

