panacotta or milk jelly?

The February 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mallory from A Sofa in the Kitchen. She chose to challenge everyone to make Panna Cotta from a Giada De Laurentiis recipe and Nestle Florentine Cookies.

I’m not sure what happened with my pannacotta. It seemed to set well. I followed Audax’s suggestions in his post to cool the cream mix at room temp before refrigerating and set some cream aside that was not heated, to make the panacotta extra creamy and relax the gelatine.

The panacotta was yum, and set well and creamy to taste, but there was a film of what I think was set milk, along with the settled vanilla seeds at the bottom of the glass. This didn’t taste bad or bland, but was really flavourful, like a jelly, so that’s what makes me think it was the milk. What made it separate? I don’t know. Everyone else seemed to like it. I topped it with a champagne jelly, which not everyone liked, including me, especially as I forgot to add sugar to the first bit that I put in. It was a vanilla champagne so I thought it would match the panacotta and I put in some berries. The berries alone would have been lovely with the panacotta, and I wish I’d left it at that.

I didn’t make the exact florentine recipe. It didn’t appeal to me. I’ve made florentines before and loved them, but they were made with more honey and held together lots of nuts and glace fruit, not like these plain ones in the recipe at all. I wasn’t going to make anything, but tried out an oatmeal choc chip cookie with pecans and cranberries later this month, so I’ve just included a pic of that to show I can bake biscuits!

Probably won’t make the panacotta again as I can’t figure out why it split and it seems a shame to make it when it’s not going to work well, even tho the taste was nice. An frankly, it’s just too fatty to think about, really something more of a special occasion that I would have it when I’m out to dinner, and then only once.

Leave a Reply

