poaching

This months challenge was poaching. Funnily enough I had fancied a poached egg after a night shift a week before and kind of undercooked it, so much so that the yolk was still cool, and freaked me out, which put me off a bit. But learning that it took 3 minutes to cook was handy, as was the hint about the dash of vinegar, which seemed to help.

Jenn and Jill have challenged The Daring Cooks to learn to perfect the technique of poaching an egg. They chose Eggs Benedict recipe from Alton Brown, Oeufs en Meurette from Cooking with Wine by Anne Willan, and Homemade Sundried Tomato & Pine Nut Seitan Sausages (poached) courtesy of Trudy of Veggie num num.

I made some home made crumpets with Mary Culinary (I think’s) recipe from the DB blog. They are great and I cooked them on the BBQ with rings of aluminium foil, as I didn’t have proper rings. They had bubbles like real shop crumpets and everything, so cool. The only thing I’d do is thin the mix slightly so it is easier for bubbles to get to the surface an pop to make more of a honeycomb of holes. Also maybe not put in double the yeast when I thought the first tablespoon hadn’t taken (oops)

It was perfect timing and I was really happy to make a recipe where I could multi task and nothing was wasted, and you could make and enjoy it all in one day. I just made a small portion of hollindase, a first for me, but I didn’t want a truck load of buttery sauce, watching my cholesterol and all. We had the 2Tbsp left over over panfried fish and asparagus last night. I made the hollindase over the water I boiled the egg in, and by the time it was all ready and crumpet toasted, the egg was done.

I cut into it….and it was just….perfect ) I was so happy, and the hollindase was so tasty and lemony. I had it with some saute’d oyster mushrooms fresh from our swan valley too. I certainly enjoyed my gourmet breakfast, and have promised to make it for brunch with friends soon ) Thanks Jenn and Jill for hosting and all the daring cooks for the great tips and recipes on the blog.

One Response to poaching

  1. Those crumpets looks amazing those holes are extra special I will have to look up the recipe. And the final dish looks so delicious and yuummy well done on this challenge.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

Leave a Reply

