The Rise of the Souffle

Dave and Linda from Monkeyshines in the Kitchen chose Soufflés as our November 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge! Dave and Linda provided two of their own delicious recipes plus a sinfully decadent chocolate soufflé recipe adapted from Gordon Ramsay’s recipe found at the BBC Good Food website.

I made a cheese and onion souffle with spring onion, bread crumbs, caramelised brown onion, parmesan and smoked gooda cheese. I recently found out I have high cholesterol and was really worried I would have to give up challanges in the daring kitchen. But as it turns out, it’s just going to be a bit more of a challange trying to alter the recipes to reduce the cholesterol intake for me.

I made these up to the stage of mixing in egg whites and popped them in the freezer for tomorrow night. They seem to be holding their airy foam well, and we’ll enjoy a quick easy meal when I’m home from my night shift. I just hope they puff for the photos and stay that way to the new kitchen table 🙂

Leave a Reply

