Fail Fail Fa Fa Fa Fail

This months challange was risotto:

The 2010 March Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Eleanor of MelbournefoodGeek and Jess of Jessthebaker. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make risotto. The various components of their challenge recipe are based on input from the Australian Masterchef cookbook and the cookbook Moorish by Greg Malouf.

And I was so looking forward to it. I love the taste and texture of risotto for a meal, and it’s something my boyfriend Steve enjoys too. But the last risotto I made was with red wine, as it was easily to hand, and he didn’t like the flavor at all. I felt so disappointed, because of all the effort I’d put in carefully stirring, getting lovely, juicy lamb to add with it. I was really a bit sad.

So I was hoping this risotto would win him back to me 🙂 at least in the home cooking stakes. I have also never made or used homemade stock in risotto, so I was excited, as that is the main flavoring in risotto, and what everyone always says is the best secret ingredient.

I borrowed a recipe from the gracious Audax to make roast chicken wing stock. It seemed a great idea, as roasted chicken is so flavourful. I don’t think my stock gelatined up, and it’s in the freezer at the minute, awaiting some free time, hopefully not too far away, where I can indeed make the risotto and enjoy it with steve.

Then a sweet risotto for me I hope, and to try arancini for the first time. But sadly with assignments mounting and due, and an engagement fantasy cake to make…for a friend and for the first time, I was being crunched from all angles, and working over time for more money also. I was just too sleep deprived and busy to complete the challange.

I look forward to introducing the stock to the rice soon, and will post pictures where I can. After being interested in the tomato and cheddar and apple flavour risottos of others on the DC site, I’ve decided that when I cook, I’ll make the stock the star, and try a simple saffron risotto.

Thanks for your patients, and well done all you who can juggle the challanges better than I 🙂

One Response to Fail Fail Fa Fa Fa Fail

  1. Awh thank you for the lovely words and I hope you get to do the challenge soon. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

Leave a Reply

