Cheats way with two types of pastry

The 2009 Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Simone of Junglefrog Cooking. Simone chose Salmon en Croute (or alternative recipes for Beef Wellington or Vegetable en Croute) from Good Food Online.

 

I tampered with the aim of the DC challange above. I’m sure the idea was more to cook one piece of meat/fish etc, parcelled in pastry with flavourings. I cheated. Instead of a piece of meat and flavourings, I used sausage meat and added more flavour to make sausage rolls. I also made some mini quiche in filo pastry. What can I say, I had a housewarming to go to and needed something easy and crowd pleasing. As one of the main components of sausage rolls is the pastry roll, I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone!

 

The sausage rolls were made with grated carrot, cooked chopped onion, a squeeze of mayo and a good heap of mild indial curry powder, mixed into sausage mince from the local shops, then rolled in puff pastry, edges sealed in water, sliced and baked:

 

The quiche were a mich mash of extra vegies and cold cut meats I had lying around in my fridge. Basically use anything you want. I think I used all vegies I had grated, zuchini, carrot, capsicum. The important thing for the quiche is leaving enough room for the beaten egg mixture ( to which I added salt n pepper and a dollop of sour cream) and then putting a bit of grated or sliced cheese over the top for flavour and to go nice and brown in the oven. I also had some tomato salsa used with cornchips left over, and put a tiny teaspoon on each one of a nice bite, as well as some diced chorizo. Just make sure to pan cook all your ingredient, as in vegies and meats first before putting them in the pastry cases and covering with egg mix.

Then both were in the oven to pre cook before the final cooking at the house warming. They all wen so fast and I didn’t have any photos of the finished product. But I did save back three of each from the first cooking, just incase, so the photos are from that. The would have been more brown and crunchy on the second cook.

 

I like using pastry to cook. Things with an eddible container are great. My only regret is that I didn’t heavily grease the mini muffin tray when putting the filo pastry in. It stuck so fast, even after scouring (which I shouldn’t even be doing with a non-stick bake pan!) so sadly that was sacrificed in the effort…perhaps santa will bring me a new one for xmas? hehe

Leave a Reply

