Lavish Layers of Lush

Ah I love alliteration in blog titles, don’t you 🙂

This months DB challange was a layered Dobos torte.

P8250643

The August 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Angela of A Spoonful
of Sugar and Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella. They chose the spectacular Dobos
Torte based on a recipe from Rick Rodgers’ cookbook Kaffeehaus:  Exquisite
Desserts from the Classic Caffés of Vienna, Budapest, and Prague.

I enjoyed making the cakes, especially the chance to decorate and show some flair. Although, it was a bit of a last minute effort, so I wish to make it again and make it look a bit more elaborate.

 

After studying and envying the lovely efforts of other DB’s on the forums, I didn’t experience any of the problems with my torte. No eggy tasting sponge, no soggy yuck, or too hard to crunch through caramel (and I don’t even have a candy thermometer) and no problems with a butter cream that wouldn’t set up (although I reckon it looks a lot more like a thick ganache/custard, than the lovely light and fluffy swiss meringe butter creams I’m used to).

 

one slice of banana

one slice of banana

I made 2 X 6 layer mini tortes, baking two large sheets of sponge, and cutting to shape with the cake tin, rather that smoothing the mix onto a traced circle. It was a bit more likely I’d keep the air in the sponge the less I spread it around was my thought. I then simply stacked/layered and iced.

 

Layered sponge

Layered sponge

I wanted to use a banana caramel cream sort of flavour, so it wouldn’t be overpoweringly chocolaty and sickly sweet. I attempted to make a banana cream cheese buttercream, using icing sugar, butter, mashed banana and some cream cheese. It ended up looking a lot thinner than I needed, so I added corn flour and heated to a thicker consistency and chilled before using. I also made the choc buttercream using the recipe on the post, but used 70% dark choc, and adding some hand pestled hazelnut paste, trying to create a praline. It tasted really nice together. The other cake I just used the praline buttercream, and moistened layers with some coffee sugar syrup.

 

coffee cake

coffee cake

The caramel top layer was easy, as long as I made everything super greasy to begin. It even held up well in the fridge for a few days without going to a puddle.

 

Banana praline

Banana praline

I’d definately like to make this on a grander scale for a celebration cake, and really let my head go with the decor 🙂 And a double yum on the taste test, love the caramel bit to the top as well, very special.

Mmm and we'll keep eating :)

Mmm and we'll keep eating 🙂

Leave a Reply

