Mouthwatering Mallows

paradise, split

paradise, split

Mmmmm Mmmmm Mmmmm Do I love marshmallows. Soft, squishy, pillowy textured, perfect melting into a hot chocolate, rolled in toasted coconut, or better yet, dipped in chocolate. So what better combination could there be than making the marshmallow royal biscuit as part of the Daring Bakers challange!

The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

I just made the Marshmallow cookies, not the milan, as I’m not the greatest cookie fan, and neither are my family, so I didn’t want all that yummy chocolate going to waste 🙂 Fortunately my BF’s father loves choc coated marshmallows, so a lot of the large batch the recipe makes went to them.

 

only a sneak of what was made

only a sneak of what was made

I had fun making and piping the mallow, and must say, it was so much easier, and the mallow results lasted so much longer using the egg white in the mixture. On my one and only disappointing marshmallow home making attemp, the recipie just used sugar syrup and gelatine, and once the unstable mix was made and set in the tin, it quickly melted into mess and spoilt, despite the coating in coconut or icing sugar that I thought would preserve them and stop them leaking into a sticky mess.

 

The biscuits were easy to make and held shape when baking. I used good ol strawberry jam for one plain mallow, and the mallow was flavoured with some hazelnut honey I had purchased in denmark. It tastes like a mix of honey and nutella, very yum, and suttle enough that I could sub it easily for the vanilla with out too much of a strange flavour coming through. With another biscuit I used leftover bluberry and rosemary jam from the bakewell challange, and flavoured the marshmallow with some dried lemon zest powder, that had been poached in sugar syryp, from the last daring cooks challange (great way to use up the extras)

 

lemon and blueberry

lemon and blueberry

Both mallows were yum yum yum, and the lemon was terrific with the dark choc. The only sad part was having to double dip the bickies, as the choc mix was a bit hot, and just slid off the marshmallow, but it didn’t relally bloom badly, just lost a little of it’s shine.

 I was so impressed with the yummy soft fluffiness of the marshmallows that I made another half batch, just to eat. Once set, I rolled some in toasted coconut, some in crushed toasted hazelnuts and some in strawberry jelly crystals. Then I cheated and bought some pre-tempered lint chocolate, and covered the rolled marshmallows in milk and white chocolate. The strawberry jelly crystals made the white chocolate ones a lovely colour, but the toasted coconut milk chocolate ones were the best, such a luxurious treat 🙂 I’ll have to take pics before I eat them all next time.  Enjoy 🙂

P7150607

Leave a Reply

