Semi-successful Macarons

I baked my first batch of macarons ever today…and lucky for me I had three trays worth to bake, or I’d have ended up with a whole lot of half baked macarons with a crunchy top cap, and a sticky, falling out, uncooked bottom 😦

 

For some reason, maybe I didn’t leave them to rest long enough, maybe my dicky oven without temperature gauge was actually too cold, whichever, my second (successful) batch too ages to cook, and I mean the cooking time blew out from 15-20 to about 45-60! I have no idea why, but I went back half a dozen times, checking on the macarons, yep baked on top, tentatively lifting them from their edge, but damn, still sticky and raw on the bottom, so back in they went, and as I was determined to actually have some macaron looking macarons to fill and try, I kept putting them back and back in till they were cooked. Hopefully I can get some advice. It didn’t seem to affect the macarons much…that I can tell, apart from being a little darker that I’d have thought, but I would like to know if the ones I made taste like actually macarons. Who can tell, hopefully I’ll have better luck next time!

 

I used the recipie from the ultimate knowledge queen when it comes to macarons, Tartlette! She has made countless variations on mararons in the past, and seems to know the trick to cook them perfect, with the little puffy bit at the bottom, every time. She made some strawberry ones recently, and that’s where I took the recipe from, but I flavoured mine some of my new hobbie, crystalised flowers. I used some very fragrant purple rose petals that I crystalised the night before. I had intended to use these pineapple sage flowers, but it turned out they weren’t as strongly flavoured as I’d have liked. So I added the crushed rose instead. I filled them with vanilla, rose butter cream, also from tartlette (so lovely an fluffy and delicious!).

Pre-crystalised pineapple sage...purrty

Pre-crystalised pineapple sage...purrty

Rose and vanilla buttercream macarons (from tartlette)

3 egg whites

30g sugar

200g icing sugar

110g almonds (blanched)

powdered crystalised rose petals and purple colour powder

Whip egg whites till foamy, then gradually beat in the sugar until you get a glossy meringue. Don’t overbeat or it will get grainy and dry. Put the almonds and icing sugar in a food processor and process till finely ground. Mix this with the powdered rose and colouring and fold into the meringue. Try to limit yourself to fifty strokes, so you don’t knock out too much air. When you test a dollop on a plate, tartlette says it should flatten out by itself, not leaving a peak. If there’s a peak, fold a little more.

Use a pastry bag to pipe some small 20 cent coin sized macarons onto a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Heat the oven to 140c. Allow the macarons to rest for 30-60 minutes to harden before cooking (I skipped this with the first tray, but not the second, successful one). Cook for 15-20 minutes (note, mine took somewhere between 45 mins to 1hr!) and cook. They should lift of easily from the parchment. They can be kept in an airtight container, or filled with buttercream and gobbled! 🙂 hehe

Natural sugary sugary goodness: new pet project-crystalised flowers

Natural sugary sugary goodness: new pet project-crystalised flowers

Rose vanilla buttercream

1 egg white

1/4c sugar

80g unsalted butter, room temp

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp crushed crystalised rose

Whisk the egg white and sugar over a pan of simmering water till the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and beat till white and fluffy (5mins). Add butter a bit at a time and beat to encorporate. Beat in flavorings.

Sit down in a quite spot after all the hot bother, and enjoy 🙂

PS, I think I’m getting better at food photography too, Woo hoo! 🙂

Mmm Mmm Macarons

Mmm Mmm Macarons

One Response to Semi-successful Macarons

  1. Steve says:

    You are right about your photography 😀

Leave a Reply

