Chinese pork buns

Yum yum this months challange was delicious. The marinade for the pork made it tast lovely and it smelt great cooking. It was so nice to eat that we almost ate it all between the two of us before I could save a portion for the pork buns. I will be keeping the recipe, minus the glug of food colouring, and using it in my summer bbq’s on all the meat.

Our Daring Cooks’ December 2011 hostess is Sara from Belly Rumbles! Sara chose awesome Char Sui Bao as our challenge, where we made the buns, Char Sui, and filling from scratch – delicious!

I will post pics of steamed pork buns, I have had these before at yum cha and wanted to see if this would replicate the puffy buns. The pic will be up at the end of the week, when my internet usage renews as my boyfriend did a massive security download thing and left my comp S.L.O.W.

I just steamed them individually in a small steamer over water, and I froze them after the second rise before cooking so I can have the rest for a yum cha party once I get a bigger steamer. 

One Response to Chinese pork buns

  1. Glad you enjoyed and thanks for having fun with the challenge. I gave the two choices with and without food colouring. Modern times have moved on from pillar box and additives :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

